National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

The NPDES Phase II Municipal Stormwater Permit is issued by the Washington State Department of Ecology and sets forth requirements for municipalities to address stormwater runoff in areas determined to have population densities reaching urban standards.

Click here for a map of the NPDES Boundary.

Click here for the current 2019-2024 Permit (effective August 1, 2019-July 31, 2024).

Whatcom County developed the 2021 Stormwater Management Program (SWMP) Plan, which is the set of actions and activities the County undertakes to meet the requirements of each component of the NPDES Permit. This document serves as:

  • A planning and implementation document for the public, elected officials, and Whatcom County staff.
  • A summary of permit requirement accomplishments for the calendar year 2020.
  • A summary of activities scheduled for calendar year 2021.

Click here for the 2021 Stormwater Management Program (SWMP) Plan.
Questions or comments on Whatcom County's Stormwater Management Program (SWMP) Plans can be submitted year round. Contact:

Cathy Craver, Senior Planner                   
(360) 778-6299