Planning Commission

Upcoming Meeting

The Whatcom County Planning Commission will host a virtual meeting with public hearing regarding: 

2020 Shoreline Management Program Periodic Update (PLN2020-00006) joint Planning Commission/Department of Ecology public hearing. This update also addresses PLN2019-00011, a Council directive to consider amending the CompPlan and codes to allow the seasonal extraction of sand and gravel from dry upland areas under certain conditions; and PLN2018-00010, the addition of a Sustainable Salmon Harvest Goal policy to the CompPlan. 

The virtual meeting and public hearings will be held Thursday, April 22, 2021, at 6:30 p.m. For information on how to watch or participate in the meeting in real time, please visit the County website at:


More information will be posted on the County website at: 


  • The Whatcom County Planning Commission generally schedules meetings on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month, 6:30 p.m. in the Northwest Annex Conference Room, 5280 Northwest Drive, Bellingham, WA 98225.    
  • The commission does not meet on the 4th Thursday of August, November, and December.  
  • Special meetings may be scheduled with 24 hours' notice.
  • Meeting times and locations may vary.  Confirm Agenda for specific meeting information.  Meetings may be cancelled at any time.
  • Meeting agendas will note if there is an opportunity for public comment during the meeting.


The Planning Commission has 9 members appointed by the County Council, with no more than 2 members from one council district.  All terms end January 31:
  • Stephen Jackson, District 1, Term ends 2025
  • Kimberley Lund, District 1, Term ends 2025
  • Robert Bartel, District 2,Term ends 2023
  • Jim Hansen, District 2, Term ends 2024
  • Dominic Moceri, District 3, Term ends 2023
  • Atul Deshmane, District 3, Term ends 2025
  • Jon Maberry, District 4, Term ends 2022 
  • Kelvin Barton, District 5, Term ends 2022
  • Natalie McClendon, District 5, Term ends 2022
The council encourages representation from the following:
    • Development community
    • Environmental community
    • Business and industry
    • Agricultural, forestry, mineral, or aquatic resource lands representatives
Term Information
    • 4-year terms, 2 full term limit, 1 year separation required after term limit before being eligible to reapply


The Planning Commission shall assist the Planning and Development Services Department in carrying out its duties, including assisting in the preparation and execution of the Comprehensive Plan and recommendations to the department for the adoption of official controls and/or amendments thereto.

The Planning Commission shall conduct such hearings as may be required under RCW Chapter 36.70 and shall make findings and conclusions therefrom which shall be transmitted to the Planning and Development Services Department.

The Planning and Development Services Department shall transmit the recommendations of the Planning Commission to the County Council with such comments and recommendations the department deems necessary.