Back to Whatcom County home page Whatcom County | Departments | Contacts |  Help |  Search
 Planning and Development Servicesheader image
  PDS Home  | Building  | Code  | Fire  | GIS  | Natural Resources  | Permits  | Planning  | Calendar

   
Building Services

Building Home
Green Building

Policy
FAQs
Links

Our Services

Building Services
Code Enforcement
Fire Marshal
GIS Maps & Data
Natural Resources
Permit Center
Planning
SEPA
Contact Us

Quick Links
Applications / Forms
Calendar
Reports

Director:
J.E. “Sam” Ryan, CBO

5280 Northwest Drive
Bellingham, Washington 98226
Telephone: (360) 676-6907
E-mail: pds@co.whatcom.wa.us

 
Green Building / Links

Green Building Basics
From the – How to Do Just About Everything website: Green Building Basics
www.ehow.com/topic_2209_green-building-basics.html

From the Washington State Department of Ecology website: Green Building Basics
www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/swfa/greenbuilding/basics.html

From Wikipedia - Green Glossary (aka Glossary of Environmental Sciences)
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_environmental_science#R

Green Building Basics for Affordable Housing
From the U.S. Department of Labor - Employment and Training Administration: Shades of Green - Your blueprint for green building construction and rehabilitation of affordable housing www.ybshadesofgreen.org/

Whatcom County
Whatcom County Resource Conservation www.whatcomcounty.us/executive/conservation/index.jsp

Local Resources
BIAWC Built Green www.biawc.com/builtgreen/

Carbon Masters www.whatcom.wsu.edu/carbonmasters

King County Green Tools your.kingcounty.gov/solidwaste/greenbuilding/

Northwest EcoBuilding Guild www.ecobuilding.org/

ReSources for Sustainable Communities www.re-sources.org/

Sustainable Connections: sustainableconnections.org/greenbuilding

National Green Building Resources
Building Energy Codes Resource Center resourcecenter.pnl.gov/cocoon/morf/ResourceCenter

Build It Green www.builditgreen.org

DSIRE - Database on State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiencies www.dsireusa.org

An online source for environmentally friendly products, services and information as they pertain to building design, construction, management + operation. www.greenbuildingsherpa.com/

Healthy House Institute www.healthyhouseinstitute.com

Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance www.nwalliance.org/

Sustainable Buildings Industry Council www.nibs.org/?page=sbic

Sustainable Sources www.sustainablesources.com/

U.S. Department of Energy www.energycodes.gov

U.S. Dept. of Energy Builder's Challenge
www.eere.energy.gov/buildings/challenge/about.html