Business and Commerce Advisory Committee


The committee will advise the Whatcom County Council on issues, including regulations and policies that could impact local businesses, industry, or economic development. The committee will report directly to the County Council as necessary to carry out the following functions:  Review and provide recommendations on comprehensive plans, regulations, economic development efforts and on proposals which directly impact business and economic conditions in Whatcom County.  Assist the county and provide recommendations on efforts to improve business conditions, environment and infrastructure.  Assist and develop recommendations for comprehensive economic development efforts of Associate Development Organizations (ADO) and other issues impacting business in Whatom County. Develop recommendations and strategies for ensuring the county applies a client-focused approach to support businesses with regulations, permitting, and planning. 

Meeting Information

  • Tuesday, August 27, 2019, Noon - 1:30 p.m, Petrogas Pacific LLC, 4050 Mountain View Road, Ferndale, Washington (at the Totem Terrace)
  • Monday, September 23, 2019, Noon - 1:30 p.m., Location to be determined 
  • Monday, October 21, 2019, Noon - 1:30 p.m., Whatcom Community College, Foundation Building, 333 Calluna Court, Bellingham
  • Tuesday, November 26, 2019, Noon - 1:30 p.m., Location to be determined 
  • Tuesday, December 17, 2019, Noon - 1:30 p.m., Port of Bellingham, Mount Baker Room, 1801 Roeder Avenue, Bellingham

For Current Agendas and Minutes see:


The Business and Commerce Advisory Committee has 20 positions. 

Internet technology - Bob Pritchett - Chair
Recreation - Clark Campbell - Vice-Chair
Manufacturing - Drew Zogby
Food processing - Douglas Thomas
Retail - Casey Diggs
Marine Trades - Paul Burrill
Commercial real estate - Pete Dawson
Agriculture - Brad Rader
Energy Industry - Andrew Gamble
Health Care Industry - Debbie Ahl
Other For Profit - Ryan Allsop
Other For Profit - Troy Muljat
Other For Profit - Sarah Rothenbuhler
Non-Voting members:
Higher Education - Susan Cole
Higher Education - Jeffrey Callender
Designated Whatcom County Council -Carol Frazey
Designated Whatcom County Executive or designee
Designated Bellingham Mayor or Designee
Port of Bellingham Executive Director or Designee - Don Goldberg 
One representative from the small cities, designated by the Small Cities Caucus - Michael Jones 



Additional Information