Council Terms and Contact Information

Councilmember Terms

Contact By Mail

  • Written correspondence, including email, is a public document possibly eligible for release. To send mail to all councilmembers, include 8 copies, one for each councilmember and one for the official record.

Contact By Phone

Contact By Email 

  • The Council Office cannot guarantee that all email messages are received and opened. If your correspondence is urgent, please hand deliver the document to the Council Office.
  • Email to the Council requires a specific subject.  To avoid computer viruses, the Council Office will not open email messages without a subject.
  • Email Councilmembers as a group or individually. Send a copy of your email to the Council email address so your comments are included in the official record.


Note: 2017 and 2018 are transition years between the old Council districts and the new Council districts

Timothy Ballew II
Email and phone: 360-778-5024
Term expires: Interim position term expires at certification of a newly-elected Councilmember in November 2018.
District: At-Large (B)

Barbara Brenner                                                                               
Email and phone: 360-384-2762                                                        
Term expires: January 2020
District: 3B (old district)

Rud Browne                                                                                        
Email and phone: 360-820-9494
Term expires: January 2022
District: In 2017, Councilmember Browne served the old at-large position, and was elected to serve the new district 1, beginning in January 2018. 

Barry Buchanan                                                                                  
Email and phone: 360-224-4330
Term expires: January 2022
District: At-large (A)

Tyler Byrd
Email and Phone: 360-778-5021
Term expires: January 2022
District: 3 (new district)
Todd Donovan                                                                                     
Email and Phone: 360-483-8474 
Term expires: January 2022
District: In 2017, Councilmember Donovan was elected to serve the new district 2 position.  He resigned his position serving the old district 1(B) to take office in the new district 2 position beginning in January 2018.
Satpal Sidhu                                                                                       
Email and Phone: 360-305-4948                                                            
Term expires: January 2020
District: 2B (old district)

Contact Us

  1. Whatcom County Council
    311 Grand Avenue, Suite 105
    Bellingham, WA 98225



    Email the Council:


    8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.